The Avalon Series

The stories of Inverness's own.
Detective James Avalon

by Peter Gray

About Photo

The Brollachan - Now on sale.

The long awaited third book of The Avalon Series, 'The Brollachan' is out and on sale at Waterstone's and at all our other usual outlets.

After just twelve months based in Inverness, Detective Inspector James Avalon now feels more at home than any other time in his life. With his personal life still a shambles, Avalon takes solace in the landscape and his work, but when a woman disappears from her car in plain sight, he wonders about the accuracy of the report.
Travelling north to a small coastal village he soon becomes embroiled in a misty tale from the past and a spectre that simply will not go away. When a body is found, the case becomes more serious. Is the woman's disappearance linked to the body or does Avalon need to reassess his methods?

In the third book of the compelling 'Avalon Series', the Inverness detective is once again on a case with a mysterious undertone that sees him forging stronger ties with the Highlands, it's people and the history of Scotland.

Out Now!

You can find special offers and prices for multiple purchases at Peter's website through the button below.

Multi Purchases

The Avalon Series

Written in Scotland, about Scotland

Black Clan Out 2018
Caledonian Flame Out 2019

With plans for five books in the initial series, the author has stated that there are enough plots for at least a further three books. For more details or to purchase Peter's other books, visit his website

If you wish to purchase more than one title, please click HERE


The Avalon Series

The first book in the Avalon Detective Series was the 'Drums of Drumnadrochit' which did so well that a second print was underway within months of the launch. Since then the series has gone from strength to strength and now there is a sequel called 'Auld Clootie' and the third book 'The Brollachan' is now out.

There are two further titles to follow in this series, 'The Black Clan' and 'Caledonian Flame' with the author considering a further series beyond that.


Peter's Website

Peter's own website is having a spring clean, as soon as the new site is complete we will announce it here.

Black Clan

The fourth book, 'The Black Clan' is well under way and should be in print later in the year.

About the Author

Peter Gray has been writing in various guises since he was twelve years old and he has never been able to stop. Many years before his introduction to a typewriter or a PC, his books and stories were hand written and some still survive, one of those found its way into paperback. His first 'Sam Series' book "A Certain Summer" has had excellent reviews, one from TV presenter and ex England soccer coach Bob Wilson who grew up in the same area and could easily identify with the characters in the book.
The sequel 'Sam's Kingdom' follows the further adventures of Sam but Peter has also produced a poetry book, 'With Feeling'.

His recent work included the celebrated 'Avalon Series' which is finding its way across the globe.
He has recently also announced another Scottish based, historical adventure series that is being called 'The Black Thistle Series'.

With many short stories, articles and celebrated Mummers Plays plus many touring productions under his belt. Peter is always busy writing something or other. He has also acted in and directed some of those productions and one such production played at Warwick Castle for six full seasons. He has also written several scripts for advertisements, mostly with a humorous theme as well as several live shows for the stage. He has now embarked on a series of books called 'The Avalon Series' of which more details can be found on this website. He now lives on the east coast of the Highlands of Scotland.

Peter Gray

Reader Reviews

Who doesn't like to get their teeth into a good crime novel? Try putting this one down! - Press and Journal.

Just finished the second book in this series, Auld Clootie. A brilliant read as was the first, Drumnadrochit!! Can't wait for the next book in this great series ! Thank you - Jane Ward

Please, please, please, can we have a third book, I love this series. - Anne Nicholls, Scotland

I have just been on vacation in Scotland, I went to see the country but ended up sitting and reading The Drums of Drumnadrochit and Auld Clootie back to back! Brilliant. - Alison Durrens, Canada.

A month ago we visited Loch Ness for holidays and we bought The Drums of Drumnadrochit at the Loch Ness Exhibition Centre. My wife read the book in only a few days, was very enthusiastic and is anxious to read new "adventures", so we would be very happy to receive a copy of Auld Clootie at my address in Germany. - Bert Zandvliet, Germany.



If you wish to contact the publisher or Peter, please use the buttons on the right to navigate to the respective pages.
Both the publisher and the author love to hear from readers and any feedback on any aspect of our work is always welcome.

As Peter says,
"Being an independent author means I don't have a top literary agent or a large publishing house behind me, so everything we publish is done for the love of it. That's why most independent writers produce their work but you can help and support us at the same time. The thing we need is feedback, it's so important to us and it doesn't matter how that feedback is left, as long as it is left. There are many places you can leave feedback, from the place you bought the book, internet review sites such as Goodreads the author's website or word-of-mouth. They ALL matter. You can also help by purchasing my books from high street bookshops or from my websites as this means we can continue to publish more titles. Sales from other Internet sources such as Amazon mean that the author rarely receives any of the profit and in some cases the books can make a loss. Thank you for your support and I hope you continue to enjoy the stories, and if you get the time, please drop me or the publisher a line."

Contact Peter

Peter's Website

Contact the Publisher

Publisher's Website

Other links

Peter's other books.